Wednesday, February 15, 2012

AFCA Award

Yesterday I was thrilled to receive the news that I had won the Australian Film Critics Association Film Writing Award for my review of Griff the Invisible.

Here's an excerpt from the press release:
In a year where the quality of writing was of an exceptionally high standard, the winners of the 5th annual Australian Film Critics Association (AFCA) Film Writing Awards have been selected.  
Judged by Alan Finney (Chair of AFI), Professor Deb Verhoeven (Chair & Professor of Media & Communication at Deakin University) and Richard Sowada  (Head of Film Programs, ACMI), the results are as follows:  
Ivan Hutchinson Award for Writing on Australian Film WINNER:  Rebecca Harkins-Cross “Who's Afraid of the Working Class? We Are” 
Award for Writing on Non-Australian Film WINNER:  Jake Wilson “Islands and Ghosts: Roman Polanski's The Ghost Writer” 
Award for a Review of an individual Australian Film WINNER:  Alice Tynan “Griff The Invisible” 
Award for a Review of an individual Non-Australian film WINNER: Josh Nelson “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives”

Even more delightful is the fact that this is my second win - I received the same prize back in 2010 for my review of Disgrace.

But the real cherry on top was the inundation of congratulatory tweets I received, even before I'd seen the press release. So thank you to all my film friends for your virtual high fives, and congratulations to the other winners - I'm looking forward to reading your work! 

1 comment:

Kate said...

Big congratulations Ali! So proud of you :)

LinkWithin Related Stories Widget for Blogs